New Alabama Law Prohibits Crossover Voting

Alabama Voting Machine

Alabama has a new law that prohibits voters from switching their political party allegiance between a primary and any subsequent runoff election.

The bill’s sponsor, State Sen. Tom Whatley, said, “If you vote in one party’s primary, you can’t switch to the other’s runoff.”

A key part of the rule is that voters aren’t required to cast a primary ballot to be able to vote in the runoff. Basically, the crossover rule only applies to voters that participate in the primary election, then vote in the runoff.

The text of the law reads:

If an elector votes in a primary election, he or she may vote in a subsequent primary runoff election only if he or she voted in the primary election of the same political party for which the runoff election is being held.


Secretary of State John Merrill plans for the law to be enforced during an anticipated September runoff in the race for the U.S. Senate seat previously held by U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions. The primary election will be August 15, 2017 and the runoff election will be September 26, 2017.

Information on the election is available at

If you have any questions regarding this new rule, please contact the GOP using our Contact Us form.

US Senate Candidates

A special election for the United States Senate in Alabama is scheduled to be held on December 12, 2017, to choose Senator Jeff Sessions’ successor and to complete the Senate term through January 2021. Sessions was confirmed by the Senate to serve as United States Attorney General on February 8, more »

Continue reading

MCREC Officers Elected

The Madison County Republican Executive Committee (MCREC) elected their officers for 2017-2018. Congratulations to our county officers! Chairman – Sam Givhan Vice Chairman – Brad Taylor Secretary – Kathy Linden Treasurer – Linda Coats Policy Committee – Elbert Peters Policy Committee – Frances Taylor  

Continue reading

Thank You Alabama!

Thank you Alabama for voting for our candidates, both for Donald Trump and for our local candidates. Congratulations to our newly elected officials! President – Donald Trump Vice President – Mike Pence U.S. Senate – Richard Shelby Congress – Mo Brooks Craig Hill – County Commission District 3 School Board, Dist. more »

Continue reading